We are not just a running club

Boksburg Athletic Club is not just a running club. It is a club that is steeped in rich history. Established in 1975. The club offers all forms of athletics with road running, track and cross country being catered for. It is a club filled with passion, enthusiasm and commitment to a single goal which is to foster sport in all spheres.  It is an Athletic club comprising of many different facets and a wide variety of people from all parts of the population.

 The club has decided to move its base away from Prince George Park as a result of the actions taken by the Boksburg Town council in denying our black athletes the use of the training facilities at Prince George Park”. There probably isn’t a single runner in the country that has not heard of or participated in the Colgate Road Race.  It is by far the flag ship race for the club and continues to be one of the most popular events on the CGA calendar, often being used by most Comrades runners as their last ‘long run’ before the Comrades Marathon.

The club has enjoyed a long standing sponsorship with Colgate over the years. The race takes place annually around a month before Comrades. Boksburg also hosts the October Road Race each year. With the troubled years behind them the club could proudly boast to have managed to not only keep the name of the club as Boksburg Athletic Club but also cement themselves as one of the best Athletic clubs in the country. It had taken a lot of strength, dedication and commitment from the members to see the club through these very turbulent years.

Boksburg Athletic Club is managed by its committee, whose role is to ensure that the club meets the needs of its members and is effectively managed.

This committee is structured as follows:

  • Chairman: Karen Bradshaw
  • Vice Chair: Huntley Harris
  • Treasurer: Surita Greyling and Liezel Naude
  • Road Running Captain: Bertus Nienaber
  • Cross-Country Captain: Chris Naude
  • Track and Field Captain:  Natasja Viljoen
  • Time Trials:    Courtney and David Langford
  • General Committee Members:  Zanele Hlope, Manfred Mukombo, Gregg Peebles, Leon Muller
  • Pub Co Ordinator’s:  Bronwyn and Wynand Strydom
  • Club Secretary and Race Organiser: Caronn Harris

The efforts of the committee are supported by:

  • President: Sheree Rogers-Chapman
  • Vice President: Frank De-Ascencao